Are Rappers Supporting The Gays? (Inspired By @__ChrisLee)

I want all of my Starz to check out this article written by Chris Lee of The Daily Beast



Check out some incerpts from the article after the jump!

“I used to be homophobic, but that’s fucked up,” A$AP Rocky told the influential music site Pitchfork in October. “I had to look in the mirror and say, ‘All the designers I’m wearing are gay.’
-Harlem rapper A$AP Rocky
“A lot of people feel like a lot of colors or tight clothes is homosexual,” D Phill Good said in an interview with Dallas’s CW 33 News. “I feel like it’s more an expression of me.”
-Dallas Rapper D Phill Good

“I hope that I can turn some of my fans that might be homophobic or supporters that might be homophobic and say, ‘You know what? We’re all one people. This is love,’” the rapper, also known as the Based God, explained to CNN in May. “It’s just respect. And I did that to bring people together and bring more love and to spark the minds of people and not let words and judgments and stereotypes stop you from loving.”
– Berkeley Rapper Lil B (Based God)

“I don’t have a problem with gay people,” he said. “Beyoncé shoulda said, ‘Who should run the world?’ Gays. Because they’re everywhere and rightly so.”
-Compton Rapper The Game

Posted on December 27, 2011, in D Phill Good, Fat Joe, Gays In Hip Hop, Homophobia In Hip Hop, LGBT, Lil B, Lil Wayne, Rapper The Game. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

