Gay Tennesee Couple Assaulted by Church Leaders

A gay Gibson couple alleges that they were assaulted while they tried to attend services at the Grace Fellowship Church in Fruitland on Wednesday.
   Jerry Pittman Jr. and Dustin Lee (from left) were the alleged victims.  Pittman states to the local news station WBBJ that he went to get the keys out of the ignition and he heard someone say “sic’em.”  Pittman tells reporters that his father, Jerry Pittman Sr., who is the pastor of the church, instigated the attack.

 Pittman also reports:

“My uncle and two other deacons came over to the car per my dad’s request. My uncle smash me in the door as the other deacon knocked my boyfriend back so he couldn’t help me, punching him in his face and his chest. The other deacon came and hit me through my car window in my back.”
Bystanders did not offer assistance nor did the authorities intervene to stop the deacon from yelling homophobic slurs and derogatory comments at the couple.

Gibson County Sheriff Chuck Arnold, commented “If I was on the scene I would not have allowed that. The deputy should not have allowed it if he did.” 
 
Pittman says that he nor Lee were allowed to press charges while at the church.  

The couple has filed assault charges against Deacons Billy Sims and Eugene McCoy.  Pittman has filed additional charges against  his father and Deacon Patrick Flatt.  All parties are due in court on October 4th.

Posted on October 4, 2011, in gay bashing, hate crime glbt. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment